Choose a location to review

Palmisano Law Group locations:

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Gold is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 6 reviews, with an average score of 4.2 or higher.

Local Ratings & Reviews (52)

Overall Average Rating

Overall Reviews

5.0/5.0
Site Rating Reviews by date
avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2021-12-17

Roland was the attorney for my 2.5 year review of my divorce decree. My first attorney knew divorce law well, however was not very good with unusual circumstances and understanding financials. Roland was an excellent listener and took the time to understand and empathize with what was important to me in outcomes. He not only understood the law, but could see the areas where we could negotiate with my ex and her lawyer. He confidently told me what we had control over and what we could influence. He was very good at educating me on the law and preparing me to have realistic expectations for outcomes. In the end, Roland negotiated a deal for me through a very difficult ex and created a financial solution that everyone was willing to accept. The solution was better than what I had expected and still met the needs of my ex. I couldn't recommend Roland any more highly.

— Client 12/17/2021

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2021-10-07

Jennifer Clancy has represented me several times over the last couple of years, her up to date knowledge of Illnois family law added together with her determination has resulted in favorable court decisons, i highly recemmend Jennifer and the Palmisano law group .

— Client 10/07/2021

google
5.0 / 5.0
2021-09-30 14:00:35

Jim is an extremely knowledgeable family law attorney who is responsive and cares about his clients!

— Holly Kopin 09/30/2021

google
5.0 / 5.0
2021-09-27 23:40:10

No description provided

— Ashley Rodriguez 09/27/2021

google
5.0 / 5.0
2021-09-20 17:25:53

Well recommend! Really happy with my case and he will fight for on what you want.

— Adrian Rodriguez 09/20/2021

google
5.0 / 5.0
2021-09-03 19:50:46

The best decision I have made besides leaving my soon to be ex-husband, is hiring The Palmisano Law Group to represent me. James has been my life savor this past year. With all the difficult situations that has arrived during this case, he never missed one of my phone calls. He is ALWAYS there to help guide me with each situation. He has won every court case thus far and has helped me get through so many difficult situations my soon to be EX has brought to me. He is extremely professional and works on a timely matter. He understands the law, and represents the case so will in court! Thank you James and the Palmisano Law group for working endlessly on my case, and helping support me get through the most difficult times, along with winning each court date for me. The absolute best of the best!

— Hiba Badwan 09/03/2021

google
5.0 / 5.0
2021-08-24 22:53:57

The fast acting team gets the job done in a timely manner. I am grateful for the prompt responses in the form of calls and emails that helped move my case along quickly. Thank you to everyone at the Palmisano law group.

— Love Happy 08/24/2021

google
5.0 / 5.0
2021-08-24 22:49:35

This law firm saved my life. If it were not for Jim & Jennifer I could have lost everything I’ve ever worked for. I thank The Palmisano Law Group for their level of expertise and professionalism. They worked endlessly to make sure that I stayed ahead in my divorce by narrowing everything down to the FACTS. These two made a magnificent team in the courtroom and they allow each other to shine in their respectful places. Jennifer stayed in contact with me with constant updates and she made sure I was prepared to face my case head on. Jim was stern and extremely knowledgeable when it came to my case and when navigating the courtroom. Jennifer, always made sure to double check the facts and she made me feel confident. If anyone is unhappy about the price or service then they simply do not want to win. Time is money and money gets the job done right. Simply put, divorce takes a lot of TIME. Thank you Jim and Jennifer for everything that you’ve done and all the guidance that you’ve given to me through this entire process. Because of your dedication, I have my family.

— MOMME & THREE 08/24/2021

google
5.0 / 5.0
2021-08-05 13:21:33

I had nothing but good experiences while dealing with Palmisano Law Group. Megan was very attentive and did everything she could for my case. Any questions or concerns I had, she was there to listen and always had an answer. She kept me informed every step of the way and whenever something happened with our case I was informed immediately. Some of these people don’t understand that court takes time & a good lawyer means $$$. The system is jacked up here but that’s not your lawyers fault!!! Thank you Megan for everything you did for us!!

— Michelle Blazek 08/05/2021

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2019-05-02

I came to Roland in high stress Order of Protection situation. I already had the OOP in place but the other party was attempting to have it modified. Roland explained everything from the beginning and never made any promises he couldn’t keep. The counsel I received with Roland was so worth the money and I would hire him over and over again if I needed to. He knows the laws and knows how to explain those laws to help everything make sense. His counsel was so outstanding the other party ended up backing down before the judge. I am so grateful I found Roland and would definitely recommend him to anyone needing an attorney.

— Client 05/02/2019

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-20

Divorce can be one of the most challenging times in your life. Roland set realistic expectations from the very beginning and executed superbly every step in the process. Not only was Roland my attorney, he became a coach, counselor and kept me grounded throughout the difficult judicial process. He is highly regarded amongst his peers which I discovered was invaluable. His tenacity and attention to detail made for a successful outcome in my situation. I am so glad Roland was on my team versus the other side.

— Client 01/20/2019

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-20

Roland Ernst has handled 3 post divorce issues for me. He was recommended to me by 3 different friends who had glowing comments about their experiences. Communication was timely and thorough. Mr. Ernst is an extremely skilled attorney and was instrumental for favorable resolutions to my issues. I always felt that Mr. Ernst explained issues to me in an easy to understand manner. Even though the issues were emotionally charged and financially based, Mr. Ernst kept the process on track to achieve the best possible outcomes. I am so grateful to have used his legal expertise.

— Client 10/20/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-03-19 21:24:05

James Palmisano was appointed by the Court as the GAL for my children. Being involved in the Court system for the last 8 years, it has been rough and it never felt like my children had a voice. Now, with the help of Mr. Palmisano, they do. He truly has done everything in the best interest of my children. They are happier than they have been in years and I owe it all to Mr. Palmisano. If you are looking for a tough lawyer to look out for your best interest, then James Palmisaon is who you want in your corner! IF I could give 10 stars I would!!

— Jennifer Borner 03/19/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-21 00:11:50

No description provided

— John Pacella 02/21/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-29 20:22:22

I highly recommend the Palmisano Law Group. Dealing with divorce and/or child custody/child support issues can be very stressful. However, my attorney, Ms. Lent, has been very professional and keeps me up-to-date on all matters regarding my case. These attorneys also show that they care about the well-being of my child, which is very important to me.

— Jenna Bishop 01/29/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-12-21 13:24:29

I highly recommend the Palmisano Law Group. They represented my mother and did an outstanding job. They were always available and responsive. They deserve five stars.

— merkel goldmon jr 12/21/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-11-10 00:49:50

Jim is a no-nonsense attorney that will not back down. He is very professional, respectful and has his clients best interest. I would highly recommend him.

— Susan Kenny 11/10/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-10-25 02:27:51

I first used James Palmisano for my divorce 17 years ago, and I thought he was arrogant and condescending. Then over the course of eight years I mistakenly & regrettably used several different attorneys for my post divorce issues (shame on me). After being scammed and manipulated by those other attorneys, I went back to James Palmisano. I called him up & when I heard his voice it was like a breath of fresh air! I can’t even begin to explain the level of respect I have for him to this day. All I know is that he gets the job done quickly, efficiently & effectively. Since this review doesn’t offer ten stars, I figured I give my own ten stars ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️.

— dhpacella 10/25/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-09-16 14:45:17

The Palmisano law group handled my case efficiently and with the utmost care. The complexity of my case was handled with professionalism and an understanding of the law that was second to none. I would highly recommend their services for anyone during what can be a difficult time. They put me at ease that it was being handled fair and efficiently.

— Peter Lazarski 09/16/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-08-09 21:21:17

The Palmisano Law Group is representing me in my divorce proceedings which are complicated in nature for a variety of reasons. I am extremely confident in the firm's expertise in this area of the law. They take a strong stand ensuring that my best interests are foremost leaving no stone unturned. I definitely feel like I'm in good hands. The professionalism and integrity exuded by the attorneys is of the highest caliber. The firm has excelled in its communications with me by keeping me informed every step of the way, offering understandable explanations in a timely and respectful manner. The attorneys in the firm are very approachable and provide the support and information needed when navigating the stressful waters of a divorce. I highly recommend the Palmisano Law Group.

— Linda Celani 08/09/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-07-24 17:09:02

in what was a very difficult time for me , I found the support , advice and sheer helpfulness I received from all the staff at the Palmisano Law Group made me feel very confident I had chosen the right law firm to represent me . Keep up the great work !

— John Dees 07/24/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-07-20 20:39:53

Palmisano Law Group is best decision I made for representing me. Very thorough, organized, and always keep you informed. Always returned my calls same day. Top notch.

— John Misura 07/20/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-06-27 17:05:03

All of the individuals that I worked with in the law group were very professional and diligent in protecting my interests and guiding me through my divorce. I have full confidence in recommending Jim Palmisano and his associates to anyone who is going through or considering this process

— Thomas Halloran 06/27/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-06-16 20:31:27

Jim helped me greatly in divorce, visitation, and support matters. He's an efficient, smart advocate. In excellent hands through some very difficult situations. Highly recommended.

— Martin B 06/16/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-06-15 21:07:03

Phenomenal representation. Objective insight. Direct, critical thinking with results. Absolutely recommend!!

— Stephanie Galmines 06/15/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-06-12 17:44:52

Jim and his associates are very friendly and supportive. They get back to you quickly. I highly recommend them.

— Jo Ann Swiercinski 06/12/2017

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2017-04-26

Amazing attorney! Cared about my case and fought hard for me and my children. I will be forever grateful!

— Client 04/26/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-04-19 10:11:08

I have worked with Jim and his firm in a professional capacity for more than 25 years. His legal expertise has consistently helped my clients live more positive lives.

— Terry Lee D'Amico 04/19/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-04-04 23:56:08

Palmisano Law Group.....Jim Palmisano along with his collegues are outstanding! They have the know-how, experience & professionalism! My divorce was quite lengthy due to foot-dragging & game-playing by my ex. Mr. Palmisano and his group cut thru a lot of that and made things happen to expedite a very painful time in my life. They've always made themselves very available as I truely believe compassion still exists, in places we least expect! Many thanks & God's blessings to you all.

— Val Smith 04/04/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-02-14 02:28:38

When my husband decided to file for divorce it left me feeling a lot of stress, many questions and of course uncertainty. My first meeting with James Palmisano was very comforting. I left the office trusting that they were there for me, to reassure me, to make sure all of my fears were alleviated. I would HIGHLY recommend them. The professionalism and compassion for their clients are 2nd to none. Thank you so much for making me feel important before, during and after my case.

— Betty Kennelly 02/14/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-01-17 21:35:16

I have worked with the attorneys at Palmisano Law Group for 20 years. Mr. Palmisano is one of the best legal minds around family law. He cuts to the heart of the matter, and provides good counsel. As a Children's Lawyer in family law, he is outstanding in the top 5 in Cook County.

— nancy brodner 01/17/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-01-14 05:50:40

I have been involved in a 14 year divorce battle over a difficult maintenance judgement against me. There have been many lawyers for both sides. I have engaged the Palmisano Law Group for the last several years. They have accomplished more positive results in this time than the entire preceding twelve years. The presented rules and case law that greatly improved my situation. They do their homework. They have saved me a lot of money by pointing out legal flaws to the court, when no prior attorney had even thought of it. They listen. They do their homework. Instead of the same tedious grind of lawyer after lawyer doing the same thing, they had a more creative, logical and thoughtful approach. While I don't want my friends to go through a divorce, when they do, I strongly refer them to Palmisano.

— Edward Domina 01/14/2017

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2016-11-04

Roland was extremely professional and proved to be a reliable source of strength when going through a divorce. I stated that I wanted things to be handled fairly from the beginning and unfortunately the other side does not always play by the same rules. In the end, fairness prevailed and in large part due to Roland's guidance. Not enough good things can be said about Roland as he helped me through this difficult transition!

— Client 11/04/2016

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2016-09-08

Roland handled my case amazingly. I was close to giving in as emotionally, it was taxing. Roland explained to me why I was going through the process and assisting me in the right direction. He cares but is tough when needs to be. Thank you Roland for everything.

— Client 09/08/2016

google
5.0 / 5.0
2016-02-02 19:16:04

No description provided

— horse lover 02/02/2016

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-19

If you are looking for a divorce attorney I'm so sorry you are facing such a difficult situation however, if you hire Roland he will help make it as painless as possible. Roland returned my calls the same day, he prepared the documents exactly the way he said he would and his billing never surprised me.

— Client 08/19/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-05

Roland Ernst is very well versed in several areas of law. I required his services for a family law matter on several occasions. He is not your run of the mill attorney. He is very intelligent, thorough, and considerate of the emotional taxation matters like these can cause. He is willing to answer questions in a timely manner and is patient when you need clarification of the law or just plain do not understand. You will most definitely receive solid legal advice from a professional and respectful attorney. I will use his services again should the need arise, which in family law seems inevitable. Best attorney in the area!

— Client 08/05/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-05

When a person is in need of a lawyer, it's often a difficult time for that individual. That is why it is so important to find a lawyer you can trust, who has knowledge about the law, who responds in a timely manner, and is sensitive to your needs and emotions. I personally depended on Roland to guide me through important decisions that were in the best interest of my children. I highly recommend Roland Ernst to anyone who wants a lawyer who puts his clients first. Roland has strength, knowledge, perseverance and personal commitment.

— Client 08/05/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-31

I was introduced to Roland through a mutual friend, in 2000, while going through a difficult divorce. He began by dispatching with the ineffective lawyer who'd been mishandling my case. He then applied his knowledge of the law to get me a just and equitable settlement of marital property, and handling of child care and medical expenses, and visitation. He assisted me in thinking my way through difficult decisions that promoted the best outcomes for my very young children. In 2003, when my son was diagnosed with developmental disabilities, he helped me navigate the Due Process procedures with my local school district, who had refused to provide my boy with the appropriate support he needed in the public school system. When I remarried in 2006, Roland wrote my prenuptial agreement, to protect my assets. Shortly after my 2nd marriage, my new husbands ex-wife began threatening us and my children. Roland supported us with an emergency order of protection. In 2010, when the public school district completely failed my son, Roland, again, applied his expertise in assisting our family with the conflict resolution proceedings. The following year, he worked closely with our education advocate, and helped us obtain a private placement in a therapeutic day school, where my son is excelling in ways we never imagined possible. When my ex-husband took me back to court, in 2013 to get his child support reduced, Roland negotiated an agreement that protected my daughter's interests regarding college tuition, books, and living and transportation expenses. Always, Roland's first priority is what is in the best interest of his client. For my family, every endeavor for which we have sought legal advice and action, those interests have been served by his keen legal mind, his ethical application of skill, and his compassionate heart. I would - without reservation - recommend Roland Ernst.

— Client 07/31/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-31

Quality representation - very knowledgeable in all areas of Family Law. Billing is extremely reasonable and very detailed. Roland cuts to the heart of the matter and makes every attempt to avoid the "chafe" that is too often introduced into family law litigation. I trust Roland.

— Client 07/31/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-30

Four years ago my children were abducted by my ex-wife and her live in boyfriend. I had retained Mr Ernst to represent me and my children. Throughout the lengthy court proceedings Mr Ernst was prepared, professional and compassionate. Mr Ernst exhausted every legal resource to ensure that my children were returned safely to Chicago. As a result of Mr Ernst' intelligence, tenacity and genuine concern for the well being of my children they live with me full-time and are thriving. Mr Ernst never wavered in his pursuit to bring my children back to Chicago and placed in my parental care. After nearly two years of court hearings and having to respond to numerous motions filed by my ex-wife the courts acting in the best interest of my children granted me sole-custody, as a direct result of the hard work and drive of Mr Ernst. Both of my children and I owe a huge debt of gratitude to Mr Ernst for all of his hard work, dedication and compassion. It is because of him that we are a family today. I highly recommend Roland Ernst without reservation if you need a lawyer who not only knows the law, but has a deep and abiding concern for his clients and their families.

— Client 07/30/2014

avvo
5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-30

Roland is an outstanding divorce attorney. He handled my case from beginning to end with the same level of representation throughout. Roland went through the possibilities and costs associated as the process unfolded, there were never any surprises. Roland is smart, tough, realistic, ethical and above all else trustworthy. I consider him to be a friend and having said that, think it speaks for itself. Not many people emerge from close to two years of emotional, physical and mental stress claiming to have formed a freindship with counsel. Roland knows the law and negotiated a reasonable settlement in spite of the opposition being highly unreasonable at times. I know I hired the right attorney and would highly recommend him to anyone contemplating a divorce or separation.

— Client 07/30/2014

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2013-08-09

I am blessed to have him as my attorney. He is my 4th lawyer. The others have left me feeling abandoned, and broke with minimal results. Mr. Palmisano has great integrity and values. I witnessed him work hard to get a good result. He is aggressive and will not give up. I have seen the impossible become possible. Miracles do happen!

— Client 08/09/2013

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-15

Mr. Palmisano represented me in a complicated international divorce case. He provided me with options, sound advice and solutions. His knowledge of the legal system inspired confidence during a difficult period. His staff is timely and efficient as well as helpful and courteous. I have a divorce agreement I can live with largely due to the attorney skills and efforts of Mr. Palmisano. I would recommend Mr. Palmisano to anyone looking for the same successful outcome.

— Client 07/15/2012

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2012-04-10

Mr. Palmisano helped me and my children immensely. I had an extremely difficult case but Mr. Palmisano took it on and made sure that my children and I were taken care of. He is wonderful with kids and really cares about their welfare during a very tough situation. I could always reach him when I needed to, he always returned my phone calls and he explained the process so I understood step by step what was going to happen next. Even after my case was over, I still called him for advice!

— Client 04/10/2012

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2011-06-20

Mr. Palmisano went above and beyond the call of duty in representing me in two separate but unrelated matters. His attention to detail was very thorough, but what I was most impressed with was the personal concern he demonstrated along every step of the way. I highly recommend Mr. Palmisano to anyone looking for a skilled attorney whose dedication to his clients is unparalleled.

— Client 06/20/2011

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2010-10-06

Mr. Palmisano came highly recommended to me and he did a great job handling my very complicated divorce. He returned my phones calls and kept me focused on what was important for my child and I. He always took the time out to listen to me and what I felt was important even if it wasn't in the long run. I would recommend him to anyone who is going through a divorce and has children involved because he knows what he is talking about and will do his very best for you and your children.

— Client 10/06/2010

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2010-08-12

I have used his legal services on a number of occasions. He has always represented me to the highest standards. He was always prepared and always answered my questions right away. He always gave me the right advice and never over charged me for his services. I would recommend him to anyone who needed a good and honest lawyer.

— Client 08/12/2010

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2010-03-17

He never made me any promises, he responded to any questions I had, and he was easy to work with.

— Client 03/17/2010

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2009-12-09

Good communicator, up to date and strong advocate. I was happy to meet him and happy to recommend him.

— Client 12/09/2009

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2009-12-03

I was represented by another attorney prior to meeting Mr. Palmissano. After we had a consultation, I immediately retained his services as I knew he was an expert on family law. Despite my unique case he knew EVERY aspect of the law. Mr. Palmissano is amazing. He takes the time to talk to me, very fair about billing(despite his expertise),and knows family law inside and out! He has protected my daughter and me. Thanks Jim, I am eternally grateful for you. He is not only a lawyer but a gentleman.

— Client 12/03/2009

google
4.0 / 5.0
2018-01-27 21:48:16

I loved working with kathrine Lent from Palmisano LawGroup. Would recommend this law firm to anyone!

— Kathy Pujol 01/27/2018